xatquiz home page xat.com home page

Go Back   xat.com Forum > xatshow
User Name
Password
Play Quizzes FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Register Free

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old September 10th, 2003, 01:48 AM
 
Posts: n/a
I just created a slideshow and it doesn't play correctly



I just created a slideshow on one windows 2000 system. I have spent in
excess of 25 hours editing the show adding music, text to slides etc.
Version is 5.02.

I want to distribute it to others on my trip but when I try the .exe on
another computer I get no sound and it seems as if the slides hang (or
are very slow). Any ideas. I just paid for this product and am really
miffed!!!

Help!!


Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old September 10th, 2003, 02:08 AM
 
Posts: n/a
I just created a slideshow and it doesn't play correctly



Actually I see the slides are not hanging. They just are set to take 5
seconds each. Each slide is 5 seconds longer than the one before
instead of 5 seconds. So #1 = 5 secs, #2 = 10 secs, #3= 15 secs. How
do I get sound and get the slide time correct. It is correct on the
machine that generates the slideshow.

Jay

Jay Anderson wrote:

> I just created a slideshow on one windows 2000 system. I have spent
> in
> excess of 25 hours editing the show adding music, text to slides etc.
> Version is 5.02.
>
> I want to distribute it to others on my trip but when I try the .exe
> on
> another computer I get no sound and it seems as if the slides hang (or
>
> are very slow). Any ideas. I just paid for this product and am
> really
> miffed!!!
>
> Help!!
>
>
>
> Yahoo! Groups Sponsor
ADVERTISEMENT
[Image]

>
>


Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old September 10th, 2003, 01:07 PM
 
Posts: n/a
I just created a slideshow and it doesn't play correctly




Hi Jay
I have not ever had that problem at all with mine but if you are customizin
g each slide as to time on screen and time for transition are they each the
same? I found out a couple of times that I would forget to change those s
ettings on each one. I normally use 6 seconds for everything but that depen
ds upon whether or not there is text as any shorter does not allow the view
er to read what is on the screen at any time. Sandy


Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old September 10th, 2003, 11:25 PM
 
Posts: n/a
I just created a slideshow and it doesn't play correctly





I created the show and copied the .exe to a cd. I have since found out
that I can play the .exe on one computer, XP PRO but it fails to play
properly on another windows 2000 machine. On the machine where it does
not play, I don't get the screen asking me if I want to preview the
program or install as a screensaver (I think i got this the first time
yesterday when I tried it). Now I run the .exe and it starts right into
the slideshow but no sound.

Just for grins I installed the latest version of DirectX. Only
similarity I have between the windows 2000 machine that works ok (where
i generated the show), and the XP PRo that it works on are that they are
both AMD and the failing Windows 2000 is an Intel. Maybe there is some
OpenGL or other multi-media glitch. I am going to download the latest
windows media player to see if this makes a difference.

Frustrating.

Jay

Sandra Davenport wrote:

> Hi JayI have not ever had that problem at all with mine but if you are
> customizing each slide as to time on screen and time for transition
> are they each the same? I found out a couple of times that I would
> forget to change those settings on each one. I normally use 6 seconds
> for everything but that depends upon whether or not there is text as
> any shorter does not allow the viewer to read what is on the screen at
> any time. Sandy
>
>


Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old September 10th, 2003, 11:53 PM
 
Posts: n/a
I just created a slideshow and it doesn't play correctly





I resolved my problem on the toublesome machine but installing the
latest version of Windows media player. I think the version I had was
old, not the default, maybe missing the .mp3 codec. I use Winamp all
the time. So I bit the bullet and installed the latest and greatest
from BillyG and all is wonderful. Except of course I probably break
some other applications but this slideshow is ok.

Maybe somewhere someone could document the dependancies for running the
slideshows on other machines. Obviously there are some pre-reqs.

Jay

Sandra Davenport wrote:

> Hi JayI have not ever had that problem at all with mine but if you are
> customizing each slide as to time on screen and time for transition
> are they each the same? I found out a couple of times that I would
> forget to change those settings on each one. I normally use 6 seconds
> for everything but that depends upon whether or not there is text as
> any shorter does not allow the viewer to read what is on the screen at
> any time. Sandy
>
>


Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old September 11th, 2003, 12:19 PM
 
Posts: n/a
I just created a slideshow and it doesn't play correctly




Are you using Windows Media Player as the default one or using Winamp? I n
ormally use Wimamp but found that for the songs that I do want to use for X
at generated shows I have to change the association toWMP. I still get the
codec error on songs unless they are ones that I ripped myself for the mos
t part which I do not do very often as I like to download music from online
that I get from several sites but who knows how they were ripped at what c
ompression and rate. Sandy


Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old September 12th, 2003, 12:31 PM
 
Posts: n/a
I just created a slideshow and it doesn't play correctly





Thanks. I must missed the dependancy on wmp (which I really try to
avoid). I am not going to suggest what the xat developers might do but
there seems to be a big lack of documentation and diagnostics. Having
said this my slideshow is ok on PC's now. Some transitions cause noise,
the curling one, on some systems.

I will next try to get the svcd stuff working.

Jay

Sandra Davenport wrote:

> Are you using Windows Media Player as the default one or using
> Winamp? I normally use Wimamp but found that for the songs that I do
> want to use for Xat generated shows I have to change the association
> toWMP. I still get the codec error on songs unless they are ones that
> I ripped myself for the most part which I do not do very often as I
> like to download music from online that I get from several sites but
> who knows how they were ripped at what compression and rate. Sandy
>
>


Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old September 20th, 2003, 08:12 PM
rbowren rbowren is offline
Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 0
I just created a slideshow and it doesn't play correctly




wrote:
> Thanks. I must missed the dependancy on wmp (which I really try to
> avoid). I am not going to suggest what the xat developers might do
but
> there seems to be a big lack of documentation and diagnostics.
I had e mailed the xat guys a long time ago praising the quality of
the computer version & asking if they could make it work on a dvd
player.
Their reply at the time was we will check on that & they have been
trying ever since.
If they ever get it right they will own the market with the ease of
use of this product.
Sad part is by the time they get it right too many people will have
bad mouthed it.

Having
> said this my slideshow is ok on PC's now. Some transitions cause
noise,
> the curling one, on some systems.
>
> I will next try to get the svcd stuff working.
>
> Jay
>
> Sandra Davenport wrote:
>
> > Are you using Windows Media Player as the default one or using
> > Winamp? I normally use Wimamp but found that for the songs that
I do
> > want to use for Xat generated shows I have to change the
association
> > toWMP. I still get the codec error on songs unless they are ones
that
> > I ripped myself for the most part which I do not do very often as
I
> > like to download music from online that I get from several sites
but
> > who knows how they were ripped at what compression and rate.
Sandy
> >
> >


Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2006, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
2006 xat.com ltd.